ST. PETERSBURG, Fla. – The Dartmouth women’s sailing team captured its third national championship on Friday afternoon ending the three-day event with a team total of 203 points.

The Big Green women topped the 18-boat fleet by an impressive 38 points to capture their first national title since 2000. The win marked the fourth time in program history that Dartmouth reached the pinnacle of the college sailing world. Prior championships came for the women in 2000 and 1992 and the Coed squad in 1992.

The event was co-hosted by South Florida, St. Petersburg, Eckerd College and the St. Petersburg Yacht Club while boasting a field of the top 18 teams in the country. The sailors raced off the coast of St. Petersburg in Tampa Bay.

In the ‘A’ Division, Dartmouth built its lead with a group-best 68 points, a total which was 37 points better than second place U.S. Naval Academy. With the championship in hand, sophomore Deirdre Lambert and junior Carissa Crawford coasted to the finish line.

In the ‘B’ Division, the Big Green tallied 135 points, sixth most in the heat to bring the team’s total to 203.

“Deirdre and Carissa sailed really well for us,” Dartmouth co-head coach John Storck said. “The great part was that it was a full team effort. Four different sailors competed for us in ‘B’ Division and the entire team that traveled had a part in our success here.”

“The margin of victory was good, but the threat of a potential DQ in one of the races added to the excitement,” Storck added. “It was a pretty unbelievable three days of racing. We have a special group of women and this win shows their hard work and the hard work of the rest of the team back in Hanover.”

Dartmouth bested the field which included Ivy League foes Cornell, Yale and Brown.

"We are so proud of our team - the whole team has worked very hard this year, and the women's success reflects their commitment to excellence and to each of their teammates" co-head coach Justin Assad said. "This is a special moment for Dartmouth Sailing; we are lucky to work with such a fantastic group of student-athletes."

Winning the Women’s Championship title and the Gerald C. Miller Trophy for Dartmouth was Lambert and Crawford in A-division and senior's Chandler Salisbury and Madilyn Gamble as well as junor Kelsey Wheeler and Lizzie Guynn in B-division.

In addition to the awards for the teams who placed in the top overall there are two trophies for the winners of each division, which have been awarded since 1974. Deirdre Lambert and Carissa Crawford from Dartmouth won the Madeleine Trophy.