Official Website of Dartmouth College Varsity Athletics

Women's Lacrosse Announces 2013 Team Awards

Article Image
By John and Matt Risley
Related Links
HANOVER, N.H. – The 2013 season came to an end for the Dartmouth women’s lacrosse team on a cold and windy day in Syracuse last weekend.

However, on the evening of Thursday, May 16, the players, coaching staff and parents all came together one final time at the Quechee Inn to celebrate the accomplishments of this year’s edition of the Big Green.

Awards were presented to individuals for their contributions to the program this spring, while coaches and players alike shared stories and memories about one another and their time with the team.

The Offensive MVP award was presented to senior Hana Bowers. One of the Green’s tri-captains, Bowers led the team in goals (51) and points (66), while second in assists (15). She set career highs in not only each offensive category, but also in ground balls (20), caused turnovers and draw controls (49). For her play, Bowers was tabbed as a member of the IWLCA All-Northeast Region First Team in addition to a spot on the All-Ivy League First Team.

The Don '35 and Margaret Radasch Award, presented to the player who exemplifies extraordinary dedication, true coachability and an unselfish attitude throughout the season was also presented to Bowers.

The Defensive MVP was awarded to another of the team’s tri-captains as Kelsey Johnson was named the 2013 recipient. The Hingham, Mass., native set new career highs in caused turnovers (20) and ground balls (35) during her senior spring. Routinely tasked with marking up the opposition’s top player, Johnson proved to be one of the most talented one-on-one defenders in the region as seen by her being named an All-Northeast Region Second Team Player as well as a second-team All-Ivy honoree.

Johnson was also named the recipient of the team’s Patty Pierce Award. The accolade is presented annually to the player who has made outstanding contributions to the Dartmouth women's lacrosse program, along with being an exemplary role model both on and off the field over the course of four years.

The Josie Harper Award, given to the player or players who have shown love for the game, genuine respect and care for their teammates and pride in Dartmouth Lacrosse and hard work was presented to senior Courtney Bennett. The award is named for the former Dartmouth coaching great and athletics director.

Bennett was named a third-team All-American by the IWLCA as well as Synapse Sports this season after earning first-team All-Ivy and All-Northeast Region recognition for stellar play in her final season in Hanover.

The team’s Most Improved Player award was shared by a duo that both exemplified the qualities necessary in earning such a distinction. Sophomores Jessica Venturino and Christine Lushefski share the award after both greatly increased their contributions to the team this season.

After not appearing in a game as a freshman, Venturino became an important part of the Dartmouth defense this spring, playing in 15 games and making six starts. Lushefski played in all 19 contests this year, making 11 starts along the way. She scored four goals and added 12 ground balls and nine draw controls.

Head coach Amy Patton and her staff will announce captains in the coming weeks for the 2014 Big Green.