SYRACUSE, N.Y. – The Dartmouth heavyweight crew team closed the racing season by winning the Packard Cup in its annual race against Syracuse on Saturday (May 11). The Big Green win the Cup for the first time since 2010 and the 21st time in program history.

In a day filled with weather delays, the third varsity eight race was the only race to take place on the regular race course as rain and weather moved in forcing a slight delay. The first and second varsity eight races were run on the buoyed practice course, as it was more sheltered from the elements.

In the marquee first varsity eight event, Dartmouth and Syracuse didn’t disappoint as the race was decided by less than a second. The race was exciting from start to finish, but it was the visiting Big Green that claimed victory, crossing the finish line with a time of 6:08.9, just ahead of the Orange who had a time of 6:09.6. For the fourth consecutive season, this race was decided by less than four seconds.

Syracuse won the second and third varsity eight races. In the second varsity eight, the Orange won the race with a time of 6:11.2, eight seconds ahead of the Dartmouth crew, who took runner up honors with a time of 6:19.0.  The third varsity eight race also went to the Orange. In a close race, Syracuse won with a time of 6:05.5, just three seats ahead of the Big Green. Dartmouth crossed with a time of 6:09.6.

Dartmouth will next race at the 2013 Eastern Sprints on Sunday (May 19). The races will be held on Lake Quinsigamond in Worcester, Mass.

Varsity Eight
Dartmouth 6:08.9
Syracuse 6:09.6

Second Varsity Eight
Syracuse 6:11.2
Dartmouth 6:19.0

Third Varsity Eight
Syracuse 6:05.5
Dartmouth 6:09.6 

Dartmouth Lineups
First Varsity Eight
Cox-Julia Herringer
Stroke-Jake Esse
7-Quinn Harper
6-Stuart Maeder
5-Richard Newsome-White
4-John Strizich
3-Rob Truesdale
2-Andrew Kenealy
1-Brendon Stoner

Second Varsity Eight
Cox- Greg Zales
Stroke- Max Kinne
7- Paul Champeau
6- Bobby Moffitt
5- Bryan Rogers
4- Ryan Ganong
3- John Cresap
2- Henry Franco
1- Fred Day

Third Varsity Eight
Cox- Reilly Bertasi
Stroke- Brad Plunkett
7- Jack Heise
6- Artie Santry
5- Tim Brown
4- Bryce Cody
3- Will Johnson
2- Sam Seehof
1-Jamie Billings