DERBY, Conn. – The Big Green heavyweight crews battled with rival, Yale, for the Olympic Axe on Saturday (April 13). Yale won all four races but Dartmouth had some impressive races from all of its boats.  

In the varsity race, Yale, who entered the race as the sixth team in the country, took the race with a time of 5:41.2. The Big Green who took an early two-seat lead at the start and raced a very gutsy race.  Dartmouth kept its early lead until midway through the race when the home team pulled back level and took a seven-seat lead at the 1100-meter mark.

Over the course of the final 500 meters, the race went back-and-forth as both teams were making moves into each other right up until the finish line. Yale’s final margin of victory was less than a length and Dartmouth’s time was 5:43.9, a little less than three seconds off Yale’s winning time.

The varsity crew is really starting to put things together,” said head coach Topher Bordeau. “After a very productive week of practice, the team took the initiative to figure out exactly what they needed to do to go fast and were able to execute those techniques today.”

The Big Green’s second and third varsity crews both had solid, fast, aggressive races. The second varsity eight took second with a time of 5:56.3, while the third varsity eight crossed the finish line with a time of 5:55.70. Both races where characterized as hard fought and Yale just was able to maintain leads throughout.

In the varsity four, the Big Green faced a very tough Yale crew and raced a very scrappy race although maybe not quite as efficient. Dartmouth took second with a time of 6:36.1.

The Big Green will travel next week to Boston, Mass. to battle for the Bill Cup. Dartmouth will race Boston University and Syracuse.


First Varsity Eight





 Second Varsity Eight






First Varsity Four





Freshman Eight





Dartmouth Lineups
First Varsity Eight
Cox: Julia Herringer
8: Nate Kania
7: Brendon Stoner
6: Stuart Maeder
5: Richard Newsome-White
4: John Strizich
3: David Mulrey
2: Jake Esse
1: Quinn Harper

Second Varsity Eight
Cox: Greg Zales
8: Brad Plunkett
7: Paul Champeau
6: Max Kinne
5: Bryan Rogera
4: Artie Santry
3: Tim Brown
2: Sam Seehof
1: Fred Day

Third Varsity Eight
Cox: Reilly Bertasi
8: Andrew Kenealy
7: John Cresap
6: Bobby Moffitt
5: Rob Truesdale
4: Ryan Ganong
3: Sam Seder
2: Henry Franco
1: Jack Heise

First Varsity Four
Cox: Nick Shallow
4: Bryce Cody
3: Will Johnson
2: Rahul Raina
1: Jamie Billings