Official Website of Dartmouth College Varsity Athletics

Men's Hockey Lands 17 on ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team

Article Image
By Doug Austin

HANOVER, N.H. - The Dartmouth men's hockey program saw 17 student-athletes from this past season earn ECAC Hockey All-Academic Team honors for 2011-12.

Players are eligible for the all-academic team if they earn a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.00 on a 4.00 scale or have a GPA over 3.00 over the past three semesters.

Four seniors and recent graduates were honored with spots on the team for the fourth time in their careers. Doug Jones (Marietta, Ga.), Paul Lee (Garden City, N.Y.), Troy Mattila (Rockford, Ill.) and Nick Walsh (Shannonville, Ontario) each were recipients of the league's academic honor in every season they played in a Dartmouth sweater.

Senior and alternate captain Jim Gaudet (Etna, N.H.) earned the distinction for the third time along with classmate Kyle Schussler (Winnipeg, Manitoba) and junior Alex Goodship (Blackfalds, Alberta).

Big Green players earning the academic recognition for the second time include senior goaltender Jody O'Neill (Nepean, Ontario), junior Jason Bourgea (South Burlington, Vt.) as well as sophomores Matt Lindblad (Winnetka, Ill.) and goalie Cab Morris (Wilmette, Ill.).

Six players were also honored for their work away from Thompson Arena and in the Dartmouth College classrooms for the first time this season. Senior Dan Nycholat (Calgary, Alberta) wrapped up his lone campaign in the Green and White with a spot on the team, while a contingent of freshmen players were also recognized.

First-year student-athletes Jesse Beamish (Mississauga, Ontario), Billy Fitzgerald (Milton, Mass.), Charlie Mosey (Prior Lake, Minn.), Eric Neiley (Warminster, Pa.) and Andy Simpson (Chesterfield, Mo.) all made the league academic honor roll in their first year in Hanover.

In all, Dartmouth's 17 names on the men's list were part of 208 student-athletes from across the league's 12 institutions to be recognized.

Jesse Beamish - Fr. - undeclared
Jason Bourgea - Jr. - Economics
Billy Fitzgerald - Fr. - Undeclared
Jim Gaudet - Sr. - History
Alex Goodship - Jr. - Economics
Doug Jones - Sr. - Economics
Paul Lee - Sr. - Economics
Matt Lindblad - So. - Government
Troy Mattila - Sr. - Philosophy
Cab Morris - So. - Government
Charlie Mosey - Fr. - Undeclared
Eric Neiley - Fr. - Undeclared
Dan Nycholat - Sr. Economics
Jody O'Neill - Sr. Economics
Kyle Schussler - Sr. History
Andy Simpson - Fr. - Undeclared
Nick Walsh - Sr. - Economics