Related Links

PRINCETON, N.J. – The Dartmouth heavyweight rowing team finished the 2018 season on a positive note Sunday with all three of its varsity eights finishing in the top 10 nationally at the IRA National Championship Regatta. Weather became an issue in the final day of the IRA National Championship Regatta on Mercer Lake. The varsity coxed four was also slated to compete for a spot in the top 10, but high winds and rough water conditions caused the regatta to be canceled as only 11 of the scheduled 26 races were completed.

The results earned the Big Green a 10th-place finish in the team points standings while Yale claimed the national championship in the varsity eight and Washington won the Ten Eyck Trophy for finishing first in the team rankings.

The Dartmouth heavyweight team was able to row in the petite finals of the first, second and third varsity eight events before the rest of the day’s races were called off. Racing in strong headwind conditions, the Big Green finished third in the varsity eight in 6:33.801, ahead of Boston University (6:37.426), Stanford (6:40.962) and Wisconsin (6:42.048). Northeastern won the final, followed closely by Syracuse.

The Big Green’s second varsity squad took fourth in the petite final (6:54.486), besting Wisconsin (7:01.125) and Ivy League foe Cornell (7:02.565) with Brown winning the race (6:47.053), followed by Boston University and Syracuse. In the third varsity eight, Dartmouth took second place (7:16.988) trailing only Princeton (7:09.806) to claim eighth overall.

“Overall, I am pleased with the way our team raced in tough conditions today,” said Wyatt Allen, the Mark and Betsy Gates Head Coach of Heavyweight Rowing. “The varsity eight beat their seed by two spots and managed a long, challenging weekend of racing well for a young combination. The 2V, 3V and 4+ all had strong regattas having all three of our eights finishing in the top 10 nationally, and a four that had a great chance of doing the same, is a tribute to great group of student-athletes we have in our boathouse.”


Varsity 8+
Jake Rauh (C), Evan Dwinell (S), Joseph Carleo (7), Gustav Arvidsson(6), Paul Gralla (5), Caleb Edmundson (4), Noah Van Dyke (3), Oliver Bub (2), Brendan Caltavuturo (1)

Second Varsity
Emma Cooper (C), Luke Hudspeth (S), Austin Heye (7), Albert Mitchell (6), William Berkowitz (5), Liam Davidson (4), Ian Marx (3), Marc Sevastopoulo (2), Will Sanford (1) 

Third Varsity
Avery Salumbides (C), Joseph Hajjar (S), Bogdan Belincevic (7), Christian Frey (6), George Atkins (5), Dan Kramer (4), Harrison Taylor (3), Liam Keane (2), Henry Sanford (1) 

Varsity 4+ 
Kevin He (C), Charlie Lebens (4), Sean White (3), Seth Chatterton (2), Jon Scott (1)