Related Links

QUECHEE, Vt. – The Dartmouth women’s lacrosse team held its annual banquet Tuesday night at the Quechee Inn, handing out awards for the 2018 season.

Ivy League Co-Coach of the Year Danielle Spencer and assistants Nicole Price and Nicole Flores handed out four awards to a trio of seniors for their contributions not only this spring but also over the course of their four years in Hanover.

The Josie Harper Award: Larson Bennett ’18
Given to the player who has shown love for the game, genuine respect and care for her teammates, and pride in Dartmouth lacrosse and hard work.

- Bennett – an assistant captain this season – played in all 16 games as a senior, her most since joining the team in 2015. Her 16 goals this season were not only a career high, but also more than twice as many as her first three seasons combined (7). Bennett scored goals in the first five games of the season with four straight contests of two tallies, setting the bar for her career year in 2018.

Patty Pierce Award: Katie O'Neill ’18
The honor is presented annually to the player who has made outstanding contributions to the Dartmouth women’s lacrosse program, along with being an exemplary role model both on and off the field over the course of four years.

- O’Neill has been a model of consistency since coming to Dartmouth four seasons ago. In terms of scoring, the 2018 season was her best as she scored five goals after scoring two in her first three years (both as a junior). Her two goals at Harvard in an 18-14 Dartmouth win marked a career high. Her stats on draw controls (5), ground balls (8) and caused turnovers (4) were all in line with her career averages coming into the year, demonstrating the aforementioned consistency as well as her ability to play solid in the midfield without the unnecessary flash.

The Don ’35 and Margaret Radasch Award: Sophie Davidson ’18
Presented to the player who exemplifies extraordinary dedication, true coachability and an unselfish attitude throughout the season.

The Blaine Steinberg ’15 Award: Sophie Davidson ’18
Voted on by the members of that season’s team, this award will be presented annually to the Big Green women’s lacrosse player who displays relentless positivity and empathy towards her teammates. The accolade is named for Blaine Steinberg ‘15, a member of the women’s lacrosse team for two seasons who tragically passed away on March 7, 2014, leaving behind a legacy of devotion to friends and family, her love of sports, an infectious laugh and relentless positivity.

- The team captain was hampered by injuries that limited her to just eight games in her final season. It marked the second year in a row that Davidson played a limited role on the field. However, her impact on the sidelines was not limited as she took her role as team leader very seriously, holding her teammates accountable and motivating them when the moment called for it. Her contributions to the 2018 Dartmouth Big Green and its return back to prominence on a national level can not be discounted as her leadership was a big reason for the team’s turnaround this spring.