HANOVER, N.H. — Dartmouth quarterback Jack Heneghan has been named as one of the 181 semifinalists for the 2017 William V. Campbell Trophy, which recognizes the top football scholar-athlete in the nation. The 181 players come from all levels of college football, both NCAA and NAIA, with 71 coming from the FBS and 37 more from the FCS, including seven Ivy Leaguers.

The NFF will announce 12-14 finalists on Nov. 1, and each of them will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, presented by Fidelity Investments. The finalists will travel to New York City for the 60th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 5, where their accomplishments will be highlighted in front of one of the most powerful audiences in all of sports. Live during the event, one member of the class will be declared as the winner of the 28th William V. Campbell Trophy and have his postgraduate scholarship increased to $25,000.

Heneghan, a senior economics major from Atherton, California, entered his senior year with a 3.79 GPA. He is currently among the top 10 Big Green players in both passing yards (2,982, ninth) and total yardage (3,283, eighth), and has won six of the 11 games he has started behind center, including the first two this season. Two of his six victories have come against ranked opponents — New Hampshire last year, and Holy Cross in overtime just last week. Last year Heneghan led the Ancient Eight in passing yards and was an FCS Athletics Directors Association Academic All-Star.

Named in honor of the late Bill Campbell, former chairman of Intuit, former player and head coach at Columbia University and the 2004 recipient of the NFF's Gold Medal, the Campbell Trophy® is a 25-pound bronze trophy and increases the amount of the recipient's grant by $7,000 for a total postgraduate scholarship of $25,000, which is endowed by HealthSouth. This year's postgraduate scholarships will push the program's all-time distribution to more than $11.3 million. Since 2013, the Campbell Trophy® has been prominently displayed inside its official home at the New York Athletic Club.

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of playing eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

Six Dartmouth players have been chosen as finalists for the NFF Scholar-Athlete Class — Alan Rozycki (1960), Willie Bogan (1970), Fred Radke (1972), Pat Sullivan (1976), Paul Sorensen (1988) and Josh Bloom (1994).