Related Links

HANOVER, N.H.  – Head coach Laura Schuler has announced the 2016-17 Dartmouth women’s hockey team awards. Seven Big Green players were recognized for their performances throughout the season.

All three of Dartmouth’s senior captains walked away with at least one award each: Mackenzie St. Onge was given the Sarah Kennedy Award, Kennedy Ottenbreit was named the Offensive MVP, and Eleni Tebano was named the Team MVP and was Defensive co-MVP, sharing the distinction with Robyn Chemago.

The Sarah Kennedy Award is given to a junior or senior who, in their time at Dartmouth, has demonstrated a selflessness in putting team first above individual goals, a dedication to their team and school with their actions both on and off the ice, perseverance in the face of adversity and a sincere love for the sport of ice hockey. In arguably her best season, St. Onge had two goals and five assists for a career-high seven points. Dartmouth’s captain appeared in all 28 games throughout the year and all but two of her points came against ECAC Hockey opponents. She ended her career in a big way, getting one point in each of the team’s final five games.

Alternate captain Ottenbreit ended her senior season first on the team in goals (11) and points (17) and second in assists (6). She led the Big Green with three power play markers and was second with two game-winners. Named to the All-Ivy League Honorable Mention Team, she had an impressive conclusion to her career at Dartmouth, scoring a goal and tacking on an assist against Brown before netting a hat trick in the 4-1 win over Yale on Senior Day the following afternoon.

Tebano has wrapped each of her four years with one team award: she was named Rookie of the Year as a freshman, was Defensive MVP sophomore and junior year, and was named both Defensive and Team MVP as a senior. The alternate captain scored six goals and added eight assists for 14 points. She was second on the team in both goals and points and tied for first in assists. She had one power play goal and led the team with three game-winners.

Sharing the Defensive MVP award with Tebano was starting goaltender Chemago. Named to the All-Ivy Second Team for the first time in her career, Chemago found her way into the Dartmouth all-time record book in almost every category: 682 saves this season (eighth), 2,242 career saves (third), .928 save percentage (fourth), .918 career save percentage (second), 83 career games (sixth), 2.49 career GAA (10th). She had two shutouts against Maine and RPI and was named HERO of the Week following her performance in the 3-2 overtime victory against Princeton.

Another senior to receive a team award was Katy Ratty, who was named the Unsung Hero. Sidelined by an injury at the end of her sophomore season, Ratty remained an important part of the team, attending practices and games and continued to contribute to the team in a positive way.

Freshman Christina Rombaut was selected as the Rookie of the Year, ending her first season in Hanover with four goals and five assists for nine points. She was second on the team in both goals and points. She scored her first collegiate goal against Clarkson in the fourth game of the season and had two multi-point performances against Maine and Union.

Classmate Sydney Hill rounded out the awards by being named Most Improved on the team. She appeared in all 28 games and ended the year with two assists. Her first collegiate point came in the overtime thriller against Princeton and her second was in the win over Yale to end the year.