Related Links

HANOVER, N.H. - Dartmouth women’s rowing head coach Wendy Bordeau has announced the 2017-18 awards at the team’s annual end-of-year banquet.

Seven rowers were recognized with awards, including four members of the Class of 2018.

Sabrina Bohrer received both the Thaddeus Seymour Award and the Julia H. Geer ’75 Award, the latter being presented annually to the woman who has made the most significant contribution to rowing at Dartmouth. Geer represented the United States at the ’76 and ’84 Olympics and was a member of the ’80 team, which did not compete due to the U.S. boycott.

This was Bohrer’s fourth year in the first varsity, which she stroked throughout her senior season, helping her crew finish first to claim the Parents’ Cup against Cornell and take sixth in the Grand Final at the Ivy League Championship.

The Season of 1979 Women’s Cup for Service and Dedication was presented to Simone Framson for her contributions to the team both on and off the water. A staple in the second varsity, Framson and the rest of the Big Green squad placed first against Boston College, Rhode Island and Bates, and against Cornell.

Sophia Stone was given the Warren C. “Chuck” Nagle Jr. Award, which is given to the woman who perseveres toward the goal of giving her absolute best. Nagle walked on the lightweight men’s team as a coxswain his freshman year at Dartmouth and went on to coach the women’s team in the 80s. Sitting in the 7-seat of the second varsity, Stone helped Dartmouth take second at the Ivy Round Robin and fourth in the GF at Sprints.

The Laura Woodberry Jessiman ’80 Award was established two years ago to be presented annually to the senior member of the Dartmouth rowing program who, despite never participating in the first varsity boat, exemplifies Laura’s qualities of hard work, perseverance, positive attitude and leadership. The recipient of the award, Taylor Daly, was selected by the head coaches of the women’s, lightweight and heavyweight teams. Daly rowed in the third varsity this season, helping her boat finish first in the Grand Final at Sprints and third at Ivies.

Sophomore Rebecca Thomson received the Parents Award, which is presented to the most improved member of the team. Thomson moved up from the second varsity as a freshman to the first varsity in 2017-18, rowing in the 5-seat. The Green placed second in the GF at Sprints.

The Martha Beattie ’76 Award was given to the most outstanding freshman oarswoman, Claire Campbell. Beattie is the current vice president for Alumni Relations and, before that, had completed a 30-year career as a rowing coach, math teacher and volunteer leader for a range of charities and schools. Campbell rowed in the 2-seat of the first varsity and helped Dartmouth take second at the Ivy Round Robin and sixth at Ivies.

Freshman Mikayla Hubner received the Novice Award for Spirit and Ability given in the Tradition of  the 1978 Novice Crew. A coxswain in the third varsity, Hubner led Dartmouth to a first-place finish in the GF at Sprints.

Also being recognized was Michael Stafford, the team’s boatman. He received the Wendall Badger Award.

The team announced that Katie Erdos and Rebecca Conway will serve as captains for the 2018-19 season.