Dartmouth Ski Team | Nordic | Alpine

With the trio of last year’s NCAA skiers — junior Lydia Blanchet, and sophomores Abby Drach and Lauren Jortberg — back on the course this carnival season, the women’s cross country team is solid enough. Jortberg earned second-team All-America honors with a 10th-place finish in the 5K Classical at the NCAA Championship, then took ninth place in the 10K Freestyle and 20K Classical at the U.S. Cross Country Ski Championships the week before carnival racing opened. Blanchet was not to be outdone, placing 12th or better in three different races, including sixth in the Classical sprint.

But that is not the only talent that head coach Cami Thompson Graves expects to score for the Big Green throughout this winter. Juniors Emily Hyde and Taryn Hunt-Smith will be pushed by their teammates while pushing them to strive for better times, as will sophomore Leah Brams, and freshmen Katharine Ogden and Sofia Shomento. Captain Zoe Snow is the lone senior on the roster and will be gunning for a stop or two on the podium while keeping the team focused and loose throughout the season.

The men’s team, fronted by senior captain and second-team All-American Luke Brown, is nearly as deep as the women but with a bit of an older roster. Brown collected four podium stops last year and finished ninth in the 20K Freestyle at the NCAA Championship to earn his All-America status. Alongside Brown will be fellow senior Callan DeLine, an All-East First Team skier who spent time last year competing at the FIS U23 World Nordic Championships

Gone is the graduated Fabian Stocek, who merely won eight carnival races. But junior Gavin McEwen is ready to step up and help fill the void after a strong showing at the U.S. Cross Country Ski Championships, which included a top-20 finish in the 15K Free. Fifth-year senior Jan Ketterson, who enjoyed a fine East Regional in 2015 with a podium stop in the freestyle, is also back in the fold after missing out on last winter. Juniors Koby Gordon and Paolo Takagi-Atilano will also be in the mix, as will the five-member freshmen class led by Adam Glueck and Kamran Husain.

The first Nordic carnival events take place at Quarry Roads Trail in Waterville, Maine, as hosted by Colby this weekend, starting on Saturday with the classic races.

Featured Athletes
Lydia Blanchet Lydia Blanchet ’19
Anchorage, Alaska
Anchorage Nordic Club

2017 Highlights
- NCAA Championship Team
- 1st Team All-East
- 1st St. Lawrence 5K FS
- 3rd UNH 15K FS
Luke Brown ’18
St. Paul Minnesota
Minnehaha Academy

2017 Highlights
- 2nd Team All-American FS
- 2nd Team All-East
- 2nd Middlebury 20K FS
- 3rd St. Lawrence 10K FS
Luke Brown

Abby Drach Abby Drach ’20
Eden Prairie, Minn.
Eden Prairie HS

2017 Highlights
- NCAA Championship Team
- 1st Team All-East
- 1st Middlebury 15K FS
- 2nd UVM 10K CL
Callan DeLine ’18
Avon, Colo.
Vail Ski and Snowboard Academy

2017 Highlights
- NCAA Championship Team
- 1st Team All-East
- 1st St. Lawrence 10K FS
- 5th Bates 10K CL
Callan DeLine

Lauren Jortberg Lauren Jortberg ’20
Boulder, Colo.
Boulder HS

- 2nd Team All-American CL
- All-East First Team
- 1st Bates 15K FS
- 3rd Middlebury 15K FS
Gavin McEwen ’19
Weston, Mass.
Weston HS

2017 Highlights
- 1st Dartmouth 3x5K Relay FS
- 1st Middlebury Sprint Relay CL
- 4th St. Lawrence 10K FS
- 5th Bates 20K CL
Gavin McEwen

Women’s Nordic Team Roster Men’s Nordic Team Roster
  • Zoe Snow ’18 — Weston, Mass.
  • Lydia Blanchet ’19 — Anchorage, Alaska
  • Taryn Hunt-Smith ’19 — Anchorage, Alaska
  • Emily Hyde ’19 — Bend, Ore.
  • Leah Brams ’20 — Belmont, Mass.
  • Abby Drach ’20 — Eden Prairie, Minn.
  • Ella Hall ’20 — Winthrop, Wash.
  • Lauren Jortberg ’20 — Boulder, Colo.
  • Maddie Donovan ’21 — Edwards, Colo.
  • Katharine Ogden ’21 — Landgrove, Vt.
  • Sofia Shomento ’21 — Bozeman, Mont.
  • Jan Ketterson ’17 — Bloomington, Minn.
  • Luke Brown ’18 — St. Paul, Minn.
  • Callan DeLine ’18 — Avon, Colo.
  • Koby Gordon ’19 — Saxtons River, Vt.
  • Gavin McEwen ’19 — Weston, Mass.
  • Paolo Takagi-Atilano ’19 — Denver, Colo.
  • Walker Bean ’21 — Montpelier, Vt.
  • Adam Glueck ’21 — Hanover, N.H.
  • Kamran Husain ’21 — Fort Kent, Maine
  • Tyler Lee ’21 — Concord, Mass.
  • Keene Morawitz ’21 — Ketchum, Idaho