Related Links

HANOVER, N.H. – Dartmouth women's soccer head coach, Ron Rainey announced the winners of the Big Green's postseason awards at the team's annual banquet at the Hanover Inn.

Freshman Alyssa Neuberger took home the Larry Garrity Award, which was established in 1995 in honor of a faithful Dartmouth fan, this award is presented to the most outstanding first-year player, as selected by her teammates. Neuberger had a solid rookie season in Hanover starting all 16 games for the Big Green. She scored her first career goal in the first game of the season to propel her team past Marist 1-0 in double overtime.

Junior Gia Parker was awarded the Wally Bell Award. This honor was established in 2002 in memory of one of the team's most faithful fans, Wally Bell, father of Gretchen Bell ‘01, who will always be remembered by the program for his caring, generosity, kindness and support. The award is presented to the player, who in the opinion of her teammates, represents the true meaning of being a teammate on and off the field. Parker started six of the 16 games she saw action in. She scored the second goal of her career at Cornell on the last weekend of the season and earned an assist at Gardner-Webb earlier in the fall.

Senior Meredith Gurnee wrapped up four successful years in Hanover by receiving the the Keith Kurowski Award, which was established in memory of a true soccer fan and it is presented to a player whose teammates felt displayed Kurowski's same courage and enthusiasm despite great adversity. She started in all 16 games played and scored two goals on the season. On August 28 she scored in Dartmouth's 3-0 win over Iona and on September 20 she netted the game-winning tally at Vermont. The Orlando, Florida native finishes her collegiate career with seven goals and as many assists.

The Big Green's senior captain, Holly Patterson was bestowed with two awards. The Hamilton, New Zealand native took home the Goal of the Year Award for her second goal of the night in a 2-1 victory at UMass Lowell. Patterson was also given the Lucinda Fernald Cup. This award was established in 1984 in honor of the first captain of the women's varsity soccer team by a gift from the Edward Tuck ‘50 family. It is presented to the player who best displays ability, leadership, sportsmanship, enthusiasm and dedication to the Dartmouth women's soccer program, as selected by the coaching staff.

The final award given out was the Player of the Year Award for the 2017 season. This award is presented to the player, who in the opinion of both her teammates and the coaches, was the most valuable on the field and this year's honor went to Remy Borinsky.

Borinsky finished the season with four points, including a goal in a 3-1 victory at home against Albany. She was a key contributor on the field for Dartmouth, starting all 16 games played. Last winter she was also named to the National Soccer Coaches Association of America NCAA Division I Women's All-Mid Atlantic Region First Team, as well as the All-Ivy First Team.