stop
DartmouthSports.com
  ●  
Official Website of Dartmouth College Varsity Athletics
Dartmouth W Rowing BIO
Julia Granito
Player Profile:
Julia Granito 1968049
Position: Coxswain
Year: Senior
Hometown: Pittsburgh, Pa.
High School: Ellis School

Sophomore (2015-16): Was coxswain of the second varsity 4 that out-finished UMass, BU and two of Northeastern’s boats (7:41.3) … at the Eastern Sprints Regatta, she coxed the second varsity 4 that was fifth in the Grand Final (8:50.36) … was coxswain of the second varsity 4 that was third in the Petite Final at the Ivy League Championship (8:02.99).

Freshman (2014-15): At the Eastern Sprints Regatta, she coxed the varsity 4B that took second in the Grand Final (7:41.46) … was the coxswain in the varsity 4B that placed second in the Petite Final at the Ivy League Championship (8:03.276).

Q&A with Julia Granito

Why Dartmouth?
I knew I wanted a rural, liberal arts college, but what drew me to Dartmouth in particular was the love that alums and current students felt toward their school. I couldn't be happier with my choice!

How long have you been rowing and what interested you about rowing?
 

I'm new to coxing this year. Going into college, I knew I wanted to be part of a team. When I learned about the opportunity to cox as a walk on, I thought it would be exciting to try something new. I have really enjoyed it so far!

What is something about you that might come as a surprise to your teammates?


I seriously considered trying to get recruited for field hockey, but in the end I decided against it. I played outdoor for seven years and indoor for three, and I was on three different field hockey teams as well as my school's track team during high school. It's been a long time since I've done a new sport, and there's definitely a learning curve, but so far it's been a really rewarding experience.

What extracurricular activities are you involved in on campus?
 

I am a Great Issues Scholar, and I hope to get more involved with the Dartmouth Outing Club and possibly work as a drill instructor, among other things. I also think it'd be fun to take jewelry making classes.

What are your future plans, if any?
As of now, I'm considering a major in psychology or neuroscience with the intention of being pre-med. However, plans may change, and my main focus right now is on exploring different departments and getting a better idea of what I would really like to do.

W Rowing Videos:
W Rowing Photos: